killoadd.blogg.se

Len macs speed shop
Len macs speed shop











  1. #Len macs speed shop drivers#
  2. #Len macs speed shop driver#

Your help will be appreciated! Sincerely, Richard A. Any information on either of these vehicles would be appreciated to add to my documentation of Dick's racing history. Dick also purchased a 1968 Hemi Dodge Dart Super Stock, he raced this vehicle for a short time and sold it to his friend, Stan Antlocer. Dick almost lost his life in a crash at Motorcity Dragway destroying the vehicle. Dick Smith also raced a Jay Howell built 1967 Hemi powered Dodge Dart called the GT-Dart. Any information, photographs, home movies or stories on Dick Smith and Firebrewed would be appreciated. Jay had lost contact with Dick over the years, he recalls installing the tube front axle on Firebrewed, while working at Dick Branstner's shop in Troy, MI. I have spoke with Jay Howell, who was a good friend of Dick Smith. Dick moved to California in about the early 70's and may opened a speed shop there, city unknown. He may have also lived in Detroit, Highland Park, Farmington, Redford and Clarkston, Michigan. This is the city were he was born, around 1940. I believe that Dick Smith worked for GM as an Engineer or in management at Chevy Gear & Axle in Hamtramck, Michigan. I am presently restoring the vehicle and trying to document it's modifications and race history. I have unable to locate Dick Smith or his brother Larry Smith regarding this vehicle. Dick was an local favorite at Detroit Dragway and many local area and Canadian drag strips during 1965,66,67 & 68. I can be reached at net, or at 734 550-2018 I am seeking information on Richard Dick Smith and his 1965 Dodge Coronet AWB/AFX, named Firebrewed. I am a retired Chrysler Engineering employee. I only regret not having a camera with me all those times pretty much seeing every big name and exhibition car that ran there at the time.

len macs speed shop

I'm sure there were a lot of Dads that didn't know where there Children were lol. Back then would have so many cars Sat night we had to run 4 lanes just to get everyone run before the 2 oclock noise curfew. Pinks All out wasn't the first to run 4 lanes either.

#Len macs speed shop driver#

My favorite Job was during the national meet I sat on the starting line driver of the speedy dry truck. I even worked the time shack handing out time slips. I'd be teching at the entrance, pumping Sunoco 270 at the pump, driving the tractor sweeping the track before eliminations, chasing supplies in the red Ford Econoline/ambulance. Then as the season started I pretty much held every position at one time or another. We'd be out there early spring breaking the ice in the drainage ditches on either side of the track so it could drain for opening day. When I was about 16 or 17 I got a job there working for Jim Capen from Allen Park, then the track manager. My buddies and I would hitch-hike to the track on Sat afternoon and stay till it closed, then hitch-hike home. I remember hearing the cars to, and the blasting in the salt mines under us lol. Also, my parents owned the Diary Queen on Dix near Sears for 25 years. I have several younger siblins and one olded brother, maybe you knew one of them.

len macs speed shop

I don't recognize your name but just a couple years age difference back then would put us in a completely different group. I to grew up in Lincoln Park in the 60's. I was surfin the web and came across your post here. Hi Mike VanCleave, My name is Chuck Ruprecht. I drive by his old house and shop every so often when I'm feeling nostalgic. I now live in Don Garlits hometown of Tampa, Florida. A few of them were autographed by Ronnie Sox. I still have several ticket stubs and pit passes from the track. I miss those days of hitch hiking down Telegraph road to get to the track. She is a Champion and I have a tremendous amount of respect for Shirley and all she has done for the sport of Drag Racing. It took a few years but I changed my mind about this Girl Driver.

len macs speed shop

My friends and I were shocked to see some Female driving a Nitro Funny Car. The next time I saw that car it had Cha Cha Muldowney painted on the side with some girl driving.

#Len macs speed shop drivers#

Connie Kalitta was always one of my favorite drivers with his 1969 blue Mach One Mustang. I had no idea i was witnessing the birth of Funny Cars right in front of me. In 1965 some of these cars had an altered wheelbase and looked kind of Funny. Ramchargers, Sox & Martin, Bill Jenkins and the list goes on. I fell in love with all the wheelstanding Super Stock cars.

len macs speed shop

I remember my first time at Detroit Dragway.













Len macs speed shop